April 7, 2014 The Maharini’s Last Game, Act I of a new full-length play, gets its first reading at the Greenway Court Theatre. The play is being developed within the Playwrights-Directors Unit of the Actors Studio West. Two rehearsals prior to the reading.

Director: John Lacey | LinkedIn
The Maharini: Ellen Gerstein
Lester: Erik Passoja
Sasha: Andrea Nelson
Celeste: Eileen Grubba
Mr. Snively: Craig Braun
Duke: Shelly Desai

See Ellen Gerstein “Sylvia” movie review.


THE MAHARINI, December 4 – December 20, 2009, HB Playwrights Theatre, 122 Bank Street, New York City | Written by Mark Rose Directed by Jonathan Cerullo

Map to HB Studio, 124 Bank Street. HB Playwrights Theatre is next door at 124 Bank Street, New York

Mother: Alice Gold | Son: Eric Rasmussen

In 10 minutes mother and son play out a lifetime of conflict that took generations to develop. Lead-in music: My Way by Frank Sinatra.

THE MAHARINI is presented as part of The Living Room Plays, eight plays per evening, at H-B Playwrights Theatre, 122 Bank Street. Admission is free. Tickets go very fast so it is important to reserve early. If they are booked, standby (show up one hour before performance) is usually a safe bet. CALL FOR RESERVATIONS: 212-989-7856, between 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM, starting Monday, November 23.


  • Friday, December 4, 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 6, 3:00 PM (matinee)
  • Thursday, December 10, 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 12, 8:00 PM
  • Monday, December 14, 8:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 16, 8:00 PM
  • Friday, December 18, 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 20, 3:00 PM (matinee)


The HB Playwrights Foundation & Theatre and its sister organization, the HB Studio, were founded in 1965 by Uta Hagen and Herbert Berghof.  THE MAHARINI was developed in Donna de Matteo’s Playwriting seminar at HB Studio. Alumni of HB Studio include many highly accomplished stage and screen actors. Among the more than 130 playwrights who have found a home at HB Playwrights Theatre are Saul Bellow, Bertolt Brecht, Vincent Canby, Laura Shaine Cunningham, Donna de Matteo, Horton Foote, Romulus Linney, Kenneth Lonergan, William Saroyan, William Styron, Kathleen Tolan, Thornton Wilder, Tennessee Williams, Sherman Yellen.

Be Sociable, Share!
  • Facebook
  • email

Leave a Reply